Got Ink?

Tattoos are now as stylish as designer bags, designer dogs, blackberries and iPhones! Have you noticed how many people are proudly showing off their ink? Even the most fashion conscience stars have been inked. This style of body art has made it to the catwalk, red carpet, small screen big screen.

If you don’t want to make the commitment to permanent ink, some people are even sporting fake tattoos.

The most frequent tattoos I have seen on display are religious symbols like a cross or an astrology sign.
Tribal designs are also everywhere and fairies and butterflies look very feminine.
Writing in a variety of styles and sentimental designs in honour of loved ones such as a name, date or portrait are very popular.
Then of course there are tattoos you would rather forget. Do you remember when Katie Price decided to put a cross through her tattoo, ‘Pete’?(in honour of her Ex, Peter Andre). Or when Johnny Depp had ‘Winona Forever’ in honour of his then-partner Winona Ryder, inked on his bicep only have the ‘na’ removed to change it to, ‘Wino Forever’ when they split.
There are a huge amount of female celebrities who have sat in the chair to get a tattoo. Here is a list of a few repeat offenders:

Rihanna – at least 13 tattoos.
Nicole Richie – 9 tattoos.
Victoria Beckham- at least 4 tattoos.
Angelina Jolie – at least 12 tattoos.
Megan Fox – at least 9 tattoos.
Pink – at least 25 tattoos.
Kat Von D – Rumoured to have over 130 tattoos! Of course some of these have merged into sleeves and she is a tattoo artist.

Got Ink

I have one tattoo and I absolutely love it. It’s on my left wrist and I got it after I was married. It’s our wedding date in Roman numerals –
XXII ◊ XI ◊ MMVIII (22nd November, 2008). I can understand how people can go back for more even though I haven’t… yet. The first you get is usually very special. You really take your time to make sure where you want to put it and if you will still love it in a month or so. After it’s there, the next one is easy. You have one now, so another one won’t hurt… well hopefully not much!

I have been planning my next tattoo for ages and I have decided that I really want a fairy. I haven’t come across one that I really love and could handle to have it on my body for eternity. I’m also not sure where I want to put it either. So if you have any suggestions, let me know!

Love Kirst xx

4 thoughts on “Got Ink?

Leave a Reply

