Style Icon: Carrie Bradshaw

I absolutely love Carrie Bradshaw. She is my all-time favourite, number 1 style icon. Her sense of style is impeccable and I am pea-green with envy every time I see her jam-packed closet and ah-maz-ing shoe collection! I just want to be friends with her – so I can borrow her shoes!

Caroline ‘Carrie’ Bradshaw is the fictional narrator and lead character of ‘Sex and the City’, played by actress Sarah Jessica Parker. Her character is based on the creator of the show Candace Bushnell, who published the book ‘Sex and the City’, based on her own columns in the New York Observer.

Carrie is a New York newspaper columnist, socialite, fashionista, published author and freelance writer for Vogue Magazine. She writes her weekly column, ‘Sex and the City’, for The New York Star. Each column also provides the title, story line, and narration for each episode. Her column focuses on her close friends, relationships and adventures in New York and the bedroom.

Carrie Bradshaw - Style Icon!

I think most people love Carrie Bradshaw because we can relate to her. She is an on-again, off-again smoker, she enjoys a cocktail (particularly Cosmopolitans), and is a hopeless romantic at heart. We can relate to her endless search for love and her refusal to settle for, ‘anything less than butterflies.’ In her words, ‘I’m looking for love. Real love. Ridiculous, inconvenient, consuming, can’t-live-without-each-other love.’ Who wouldn’t want that?

Carrie lives in Manhattan, New York, in a brownstone at 245, East 73rd Street, between Park and Madison on the Upper East Side. I absolutely love her apartment. It is amazing and so stylish. Whenever I am thinking of myself in New York and am wishing I was there, I picture myself in this apartment. This is obviously where I will stay when I visit! My sister has visited her stoop. I am so damn jealous – I think the only reason she went there was to make me jealous! You can even go on a ‘Sex and the City’ tour in New York. The tour includes Carrie’s stoop, Scout – the bar that Aidan and Steve owned together and Magnolia Bakery – Where the famous New York Cupcakes are sold and where Carrie and Miranda enjoyed a cupcake in one episode.

Carrie Bradshaw's Apartment

Carrie is someone who lives for fashion. She has confessed, ‘When I first moved to New York and I was totally broke, sometimes I would buy Vogue instead of dinner. I felt it fed me more.’ Carrie’s incredible wardrobe appears to be out of her price range. Her addiction to shoes has been a major problem and has led to her maxing out her credit cards quite frequently while purchasing Monolo Blahniks, Christian Louboutin’s and Jimmy Choo’s. Shoes are her ‘substance abuse problem’ and she has admitted, ‘I’ve spent $40,000 on shoes and I have no place to live? I will literally be the old woman who lived in her shoes!’

Her favourites places to shop include Barneys, Bergdorf Goodman and Saks Fifth Avenue. In the series she has worn Alexander McQueen, Balenciaga, Chloé, Christian Dior, Christian Louboutin, Diane von Fürstenberg, Fendi, Givenchy, Gucci, Jean Paul Gaultier, Louis Vuitton, Manolo Blahnik, Marc Jacobs, Marni, Missoni, Miu Miu, Moschino, Oscar de la Renta, Roberto Cavalli, Vera Wang, Versace, Vivienne Westwood, among others.

Jealous much? Yes! I am going to need a HUGE amount of spending money for when I visit New York City people. Maybe I can start a fund? Come on, help a sista out! …What are credit cards for though… right?!

Love Kirst xx

4 thoughts on “Style Icon: Carrie Bradshaw

  1. Pingback: dr love real housewives

  2. The brownstone that she “lives” in is not on the east side at all. It’s in the Village. It just sold a little while ago for $10 million. 🙂

Leave a Reply

