I do, I do, I do, I do, I do….

I love a wedding – especially when it happens to such great people. My best friend Tegan got married on the weekend to the love of her life, Simon… and I was a bridesmaid! – head bridesmaid actually. If you want to get technical, it’s matron of honour – but I think this makes me sound old and chubby. So I’m sticking with head bridesmaid – or chief kahuna as I’ve heard other head bridesmaids referred to as. Tegan was also a bridesmaid at my wedding, so I understand and feel privileged to be part of their wedding day. 

The Happy Couple

 

We all woke up insanely early on Saturday morning and were poked, prodded and made up by the hairdresser and make-up artist.
The videographer was hilarious and made us pose and do all kinds of crazy things while we were getting ready and throughout the day and night, so I’m excited to see how that turns out. 

The wedding ceremony and cocktail reception were held at Mandala Wines in Dixons Creek in the Yarra Valley.
It was a beautiful ceremony held outside in front of the vineyard.
The reception was so much fun and the band were amazing. We danced on the checker-board dance floor under the retro coloured lights and did not stop laughing all night. 

My husband’s highlight of the night was when a woman came up to him at the reception and told him he looked exactly like Sam Worthington. Her husband said that she was going on about it all night and was asking everyone if they had seen the guy that looked like Sam Worthington yet! Well, I do think my husband is a spunk and he was pretty chuffed indeed! 

After the reception we made our way back to the rooms most of the guests were staying at. We had booked out the entire place so we created our own party in a few of the adjoining rooms. I hit the wall around 2am, however the bride and groom partied on until 5am. I have no idea how they kept going for so long but am glad to hear that they enjoyed themselves. 

The Wedding Party

 

 

I was also asked to do a speech at the reception. I wrote it and re-wrote it until I thought I had the perfect speech. I was quite confident that there might be a few tears – and there was!
When I was writing the speech I had to laugh and think of all the other speeches written before a wedding. It’s always a given that the bride will look stunning, the groom will look handsome, the bridesmaids will look fantastic and the groomsmen have scrubbed up well. We just know that this is what everyone will look like on the day. They did – thank god! So I didn’t have to re-write my speech at the last minute! 

The bride wore an ivory wedding dress with embroidery, crystal and beading detail. The dress had a sweetheart neckline and pinched skirt with lace. Ah-maz-ing! Tegan looked absolutely stunning in her gorgeous wedding dress. The bridesmaids wore beautiful knee length dresses with a V-neck and satin braided belt. The colour was called dusty lavender and they were divine. The Groom and Groomsmen wore a silvery coloured suit with black shirts and black thongs. I think we were a pretty attractive wedding party. 

It reminded me a lot of when Tegan and I used to play dress-ups when we were little. We were 5 or 6 years old and I remember Tegan wearing a beautiful white wedding dress made of silk with lace arms and strappy shoes with a little heel. She had a veil and some strategically placed lipstick of course!
Ever the trend setter, I was wearing a Mickey Mouse T-Shirt, Green Ra-Ra skirt, mighty ducks socks pulled up to my knees and Tegan’s Mum’s grey ankle boots where the heel kept getting stuck in the decking! 

Tegan & Kirsten

 

My bridesmaids shoes were amazing and sky high – we all referred to them as the hooker heels. So I came prepared and took a pair of thongs with me. No bare-foot skanky bridesmaid here!
During the ceremony we had to walk on grass and found it extremely hard to walk and stand still in one spot as we kept sinking into the ground. I lasted in my hooker heels for the ceremony, photo’s and about half of the reception, then my poor little feet couldn’t handle it anymore and I changed into my flats. 

T & S Wedding

 

I have known Tegan for just over 22 years. We met at 3 year old kinder, and we must have made some kind of impression on each other, but I can’t really remember it! We went through kindergarten, primary school, part of high school, and played netball and softball together. We even sung in the Victorian Children’s choir together with Darryl Cotton. Intense! Growing up, we always had a love/hate relationship. Like most kids we had a fight every other week, but made up again in time to go to Rollerama together on a Friday night! 

Tegan is not only my best friend, but she is basically my sister. We have shared many laughs together, cried many tears together and have gotten very drunk together. I will never forget the feeling of Tegan’s room spinning one New Year’s Eve when we were about 14 years old after one too many raspberry UDL’s. Oops – don’t tell our parents! 

The first time I heard about Simon was almost 7 years ago. Tegan and I were sitting on her bed gossiping about boys and she told me about this guy she had met at a party the night before. She told me he was totally hot and that she couldn’t wait to see him again.
When I finally met Simon, I could tell that they were smitten with each other. I had never seen Tegan like this before. In the past she had been very blaze about boys. She certainly kept them keen and treated them mean. But when I saw her with Simon it was different and I remember thinking to myself that I thought she had found, ‘the one!’ 

About 6 years later, I received a phone call from Tegan telling me she was engaged! We were screaming and jumping up and down on the phone together. I was absolutely thrilled for her. My best friend couldn’t have found a nicer guy, if I went and picked him out myself. 

The Kiss

 

Tegan and Simon, I am ecstatic for both of you. You truly complement one another and you are clearly very much in love. Love after all, doesn’t make the world go around… Love is what makes the ride worthwhile. And it’s a wonderful thing when two people who were made for each other manage to fall in love. I wish for them a wonderful life together filled with health, happiness and love. 

Have fun on your honeymoon in Fiji. Bon Voyage! 

Love Kirst xx