The language of love – trés sexy!

There is something very sexy about the language of love. When I hear a French accent I can’t help but look around to see where is has come from. The French accent was one of the main reasons I watched My Kitchen Rules. Manu Feildel, the chef on the show has a beautiful French accent. It is trés sexy.

My Mum and her side of the family are from Mauritius. The language spoken in Mauritius is Creole, which is extremely similar to French.

Growing up, I remember my Mum speaking for hours on the phone to my Grandma in French. It used to be frustrating because I couldn’t understand what they were saying and my name would pop up in the middle of a sentence all the time.
I went to Mauritius a few years ago to visit my family and to celebrate my Great-Grandma’s 100th birthday! My family from Australia, Mauritius and Ireland gathered together and had an amazing time. Most of them I had never met before and we ended up getting along fabulously. I would love to go back with my husband one day. It is paradise and absolutely breathtaking. This is one place you should definitely visit one day.

Here are my favourite French words:

Love – amour
I love you- Je t’aime
I love you too – Moi aussi, je t’aime
I adore you – Je t’adore
I love you with all my heart – Je t’aime de tout mon Coeur
Yours forever – À toi, pour toujours
Will you marry me? – Veux-tu m’épouser ?
present – un cadeau
flowers – des fleurs
candy-  des bonbons
clothes – des vêtements
perfume – du parfum
jewellery – des bijoux
dear, sweetheart – chéri, chérie

It’s funny, but as I’m writing this my voice has suddenly acquired a French accent! Oui, but it is true!
The French language is so romantic. What could be more romantic than a hollywood dip in front of the Eiffel tower in Paris? I hope my husband is reading this and is getting a very big hint!

I really wish that my mum taught me how to speak French when I was younger. I know a little bit but not nearly enough to depend on.
Maybe one day I will learn how to speak it, but for now I will just have to be satisfied with the romantic tones of this beautiful language.

Tendres baisers (love and kisses),
Kirst xx

Leave a Reply

