Australia’s Next Top Model Oopsie-daisy!


I was watching Australia’s Next Top Model live on Tuesday night. I voted 3 times for Amanda and I really wanted Amanda and Sophie as the top 2 finalists. When Sarah Murdoch called Kelsey’s name first, I was shocked! I was also concerned that Amanda wouldn’t be picked next.

Thankfully, she was and we were left with two nervous finalists on stage. There could only be one winner – too bad they called out the wrong name!


The host, Sarah Murdoch announced the winner as Kelsey Martinovich. Kelsey went on to make an emotional speech of appreciation and gratitude for the show. The runner-up Amanda Ware smiled, clapped, congratulated the winner and thanked the show for the opportunity.

This was until a flash of horror crossed Sarah Murdoch’s face and she gave a tiny gasp. Poor Sarah looked as though she might faint. The audience of 2000 fell silent as Sarah said, “Oh my God, I don’t know what to say right now.” “I’m feeling a bit sick about this. No, I’m so sorry about this. Oh my God. I don’t know what to say. It’s a complete accident. I’m so sorry, it’s Amanda.”

Kelsey immediately responds with, “It’s an honest mistake.” She doesn’t cry or go for the sympathy vote. I really do have to give her a good pat on the back for the way she handled the situation.
Amanda looked slightly embarrassed, however broke the tension by giving a small whoop and smiling. The audience started laughing and a small applause was given to the well-deserved winner.

Sarah explained that the voting was so close and that it kept going back and forth between the two girls. Apparently Amanda won by only 3 votes. I like to think that my 3 votes got her over the line!

I didn’t love Kelsey during the show, I actually thought she was a bit of a bi-atch at times. However both these girls were innocent and had nothing to do with this little oopsie-daisy. They both handled the situation with grace, dignity and professionalism.

As the winner, Amanda was signed to modeling agency Priscilla’s and will fly to New York to meet with the Elite agency. She also won a $25,000 contract to appear in a Levi’s campaign and landed the cover and an eight-page spread for Harper’s Bazaar Australia.

Due to the mix up, Kelsey was given $25,000 cash prize and a trip to New York as compensation. She has now also been given her own Harper’s Bazaar cover which will be featured in the same edition as Amanda’s. The magazine decided that it would have two different covers printed for their next issue featuring Amanda on one and Kelsey on the other. The magazine will be split evenly between the two covers.

This actually annoys me a bit. Amanda still won Australia’s Next Top Model but she has to share her major prize. A magazine cover is a big deal and I don’t think I would be quite as gracious if I had to share it. It seems that Foxtel and Harper’s have made sure Kelsey is looked after, but have they really done the same for Amanda?
Amanda missed out on the huge round of applause she deserved as the winner. She missed out on her win being all about her. She has basically been put on the back-burner while everyone is still going on about the mix up. Ok, we were shocked – but let’s move on. Who cares if Kelsey didn’t win – they have certainly made up for it.
 Go Amanda, you got my vote… or 3!

Leave a Reply

