Life after Acrylic Nails

I recently had acrylic nails for a wedding I was in. I opted for the french tip and loved them. This was until they started growing out. Once they start growing out you need to get refills or remove them. Shabby nails are a beauty no-no and must be attended to regularly.

I decided to remove them. My main reasoning for this was that I couldn’t really afford to keep up with it. I would also prefer to spend my hard-earned cash on nail polish instead. As you are all aware by now, my new love at the moment is OPI nail polish.

If you decide to remove your acrylic nails like I did, it is best to have this done at the salon where you got them. Removing acrylic nails the wrong way can damage your natural nails. Nail salons have the skill and patience to remove them properly.

If you are going to try to remove your acrylic nails at home DON’T rip them off. You can end up hurting yourself and damaging your natural nails if you’re not careful.

The easiest way to remove acrylic nails at home is to soak them in acetone. Most nail polish removers contain acetone. Acetone can irritate the skin so a lot of brands are acetone-free, so check your bottle and make sure it contains acetone or it won’t work.

Find a comfortable work space and cover with a towel. Acetone can damage furniture – believe me! Next, pour the acetone nail polish remover into a glass bowl. Pour enough so that it will cover your fingertips. Cover your cuticles and the tips of your fingers in Vaseline or petroleum jelly to protect your skin and leave your nails bare. Soak your fingertips in the acetone for about 20 minutes. After this the acrylic gel should soften and start to dissolve away. Use a cuticle stick to gently scrape away the acrylic. It can get sticky and it can also take a few times of soaking and scraping to remove the glue and acrylic. Avoid scraping the surface of your natural nail as this will damage it. You can also wipe the acrylic nail with a rag or towel soaked in acetone. When the acrylic is nearly gone, wash and dry your hands. Use a nail buffer to take away any remaining bits of acrylic. This is so that you avoid damaging your natural nail. Lastly, apply moisturizer or a hand and nail cream and then some nail repair or hardener.

Another way to remove your acrylic nails is to soak cotton balls in acetone, place them over your nails and then wrap your fingertips up individually with aluminium foil. This will dissolve the acrylic without having to soak your fingertips in acetone. Leave the cotton balls for at least 20 minutes and remove them the same way as before.

If your at home experience is too painful or you find your skin is sensitive from the acetone, then stop. Wash your hands with some gentle soap and go to a salon. It isn’t too expensive and they are professionals who know what they are doing.

Try not to do what I did. I got fed up with trying the above. I’m very impatient and couldn’t wait to paint my fingernails with my brand new OPI nail polish – Mod about you. So I carefully cut them back after soaking them and I bit them off instead. I know, very naughty – but I was really careful and they really aren’t too damaged. They are paper thin now so I put on some nail repair polish and they are gradually getting better. My nail polish looks pretty though!

Love Kirst xx

7 thoughts on “Life after Acrylic Nails

  1. nice info,this is from my source.
    Take some aluminum foil and cut it into squares. Now, wet the cotton balls with acetone, lay it on the nail and cover it as tightly as possible with the aluminum foil. Repeat the procedure for all 10 nails or do one hand at a time. Do not open the foil for at least 20 minutes. Once the time elapses, remove the foils one at a time and with a wood pusher or orange wood stick scrape the acrylic off. Ideally it should come right off, however the process can be repeated if there are some traces left. Another way of removing the nails using acetones is to soak the hands in warm water for some time. Then soak them in acetone and the acrylic nails will then become soft and easily remove.

    • I just cut them down with nail clippers then used my teeth to get between my nail and the acrylic nail and slowly tore then off my nail. I wouldn’t recommend though as it does a lot of damage to your nail.

  2. Pingback: nail art stickers

  3. This post sounds so much like me it’s creepy. I have an obsession with that opi color too and also do the same thing when taking them off!

Leave a comment